# Extract from Part 11 of Folkestone & Hythe District Council's Constitution

### 4. JOINT TRANSPORTATION BOARD

## 4.1 Purpose

The Board will consider capital and revenue funded works programmes; traffic regulation orders; street management proposals and provide advice on these matters to the relevant executive, as appropriate.

#### 4.2 Terms of Reference:

The Joint Transportation Board will:

- a) Consider:
- i. Capital and revenue funded works programmes;
- ii. Traffic regulation orders;
- iii. Street management proposals; and will provide advice on these matters to the relevant executive, as appropriate;
- b) Be a forum for consultation between Kent County Council and the Council on policies, plans and strategies related to highways, road traffic and public transport;
- c) Review the progress and outturn of works and business performance indicators;
- d) Recommend and advise on the prioritisation of bids for future programmes of work;
- e) Receive reports on highways and transportation needs within the District.

# 4.3 Composition

#### 4.3.1 Membership:

- **4.3.1(a)** All KCC members for divisions in the District Council's area and an equal number of members appointed by the District Council, and a representative of the parish and town councils within the District.
- **4.3.1(b)** District Council members are appointed by the Leader of the Council.

# 4.4 Chairman

In alternate years, a member of KCC (who is a member of the JTB) will chair the JTB and a District Council member (who is a member of the JTB) will be Vice-Chairman of the JTB, and then a member of the District Council will chair the JTB and a KCC member will be Vice-Chairman of the JTB and so on, following on the arrangements which existed in the year before the new agreement came into force. The respective councils will appoint the Chairman and Vice-Chairman, as they may determine, within their constitutional arrangements. The Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the JTB will take office at the first meeting of the JTB, following the annual meetings of both councils each year.